lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Archive for the day “April 24, 2022”

Forty more days.

Good morning from sunny Brunswick. I’m being pulled hard to plant my four perennials, mostly because I’m getting sick of bringing them out in the morning and then lugging them in at night, but my husband keeps saying “Not yet! Not yet!” He’s right, but a touch annoying. Granted, it’s my fault for buying them this early in the season. Still, if the dandelions are sprouting and surviving the cold nights, why can’t my Phlox?

My brother-in-law found a graph online comparing Hyde Park to Brunswick regarding weather-related statistics. If his source is credible, we have 40 more days of sun here than back in Vermont. I knew it! More sun means more photosynthesis, and for me that means more joy. Sometimes folks you just have to move to feel better.

In my last blog, I touched on hope. I just finished reading Barack Obama’s and Bruce Springstein’s book on hope. It’s called Renegades–Born in the USA. It’s a coffee table book of sorts and it’s very good if you like and respect both authors, which I do. I find it to be a good companion to Goodall’s Book of Hope. Both books discuss and take head on the serious and often deranged fault lines in our country and our world. Still, there’s the echo and riff of how things can get better if we humans keep working at it. Hope is like amniotic fluid in that way; it just keeps generating itself.

I leave you with a photo my sister-in-law Amanda took of a bird right outside her window. Spring!

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

Heralding Spring

Post Navigation

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

down to earth

Finding Home

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.