lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Archive for the day “April 17, 2022”

Joy of course.

Good morning everyone and Happy Easter! I’m off to a slow start with a quirky back but there’s nothing like a hearty Alleluia to stir the blood and turn a day around. Today I plan to gingerly oh so gingerly crouch down and plant a bleeding heart, a mound of feathery artemisia, and fuscia-colored ground phlox. Hopefully Tim will plant our yellow tea rose bush as well. We’ve had bits of spring pop around the yard, some grape hyacinths, daffodils, and crocuses. Nuggets of joy of course. And we’ve a lovely day here, I look forward to my walk.

The trees are budding here and the spring birds have returned. We have one of those suction-cupped feeders attached to our window and it’s entertaining to watch the chickadees, finches, and cardinals land and feast. The chickadees are very polite, one seed at a time with no lingering. The finches fly in and settle a while, filling their tanks and then taking off more slowly with their added weight. The cardinals, well, they move in and set up house. It’s not unusual for them to feed for more than ten minutes per landing. The chickadees and finches try to fly in when the bigger birds are there, but there’s no room and they turn away, I imagine dejectedly. Still, it’s a fun show for me to watch. I just wish I could get close enough from the inside to get photos for my mom. I’ll keep trying.

That’s it for me today, a humble post. I hope you all have a good week, and check back then for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

Post Navigation

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

down to earth

Finding Home

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.