lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

In a village in Africa.

Good morning from sunny Vermont. A few months ago, I read about these women in a village in Africa. They were experiencing an awful drought and the men, who made decisions for the village, seemed to be out of ideas. Meanwhile, the women kept saying there was a well under the ground capable of providing water for not just their village, but also the villages surrounding them. Out of desperation, the men allowed the women to start digging. They dug for almost two years until they hit water, enough water for their village and their suffering neighbors. Now the villages are flourishing, with all sorts of small business projects and effective water management.

This morning I feel like those women must have felt when they approached year two. I’m not so sure anymore that there’s water underneath me, but I’ve got a shovel in my hand and there’s the dirt, so what else is there to do but keep digging?

Perhaps next week I’ll write more, but right now, I’m maxed out with my hole in the ground. Have a good week.

Lisa

shovel-1023505__340.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

down to earth

Finding Home

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.