lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Scoops of cinnamon coffee cake and toasted coconut.

Good morning from sunny Vermont. We are back and ready for the next stage of our lives. Today our mover comes to give us an estimate for the load that will go to our new home, and the girls will help me cull my clothes down to a dresser’s and half a small closet’s worth. Normally, I treat Sunday as a day of rest, so my plan is to make the sorting into a fun activity. Since I’m about six loads of laundry behind, I’m not sure how I can make that into anything but a chore.

But here’s what seeped into my bones this past week. Sun so hot I felt my bones purring with satisfaction. Ice cream so flavorful that we returned three times for scoops of cinnamon coffee cake and toasted coconut. A deck with such a beautiful view of the ocean that we lived on it for hours at a time, curled up in our lounge chairs with no intent other than to listen to the surf. The beach, of course, and the excitement of a shark sighting and police forbidding us to enter the water. Card games and crossword puzzles and a stack of books read. Nap time and no cooking and the joy of a dishwasher. Treats given, treats received.

We visited our favorite antique shop in the whole world, and spent lunch and an afternoon catching up with two people we love, all the while marveling at the new displays and offered wares. I found an old silver bracelet that fits tight to my thin wrist, and I’m wearing it now; it’s a good match to my newly tanned skin.

I wrote more of Quill Point on the deck. Yes, this book is humming along, and vacation time fueled me with renewed commitment. All of that and more. Conversations filled with tears and laughter. A seal in the waves. A bit of green sea glass warmed by my daughter’s hands and then given to mine. The sea is where I shine best, and I’m here now at home, still hearing the surf in my ears.

I haven’t had the time to download my new photos, but I leave you with one from last year that fits just as well.

Where’s your favorite place to vacation? Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

boat-821626_960_720

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

