lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Sometimes you just have to spend it.

Hello from rainy Vermont. It’s been so rainy for so long I couldn’t stand it, so I busted out of here,  went to the Forget Me Not Shop in Johnson, and bought fifty-six dollars worth of rain depression clothes. Two summer dresses, two winter sweaters, one summer work shirt, a turtleneck, and a pair of jean shorts. The clothes were new but cast off, a step up from the Good Will clothes I usually find for myself. I vetted each piece as “forever clothes,” and went home to cut tags and show my purchases to the girls. That lasted all of two hours. Then the darn rain came back.

So I looked around the house. Our upstairs bathroom needed a good scrub. Nah. There were stacks of papers on my office table. Nah. Quill Point waited. Nah. If I couldn’t get outside and sit on my chairs for yet another day, I needed something with pizazz to get through. So I sat on the sofa with my wet dog and turned the television on to my new favorite “fold the laundry” home show, Good Bones, and watched it without any laundry. Yep, I actually watched television without folding laundry. (Note how exciting my life is.)

Then I remembered what I could do. Something fun but necessary. You ready for it? The Vacation List! The list of groceries for a week’s worth of coastal meals. The list explaining about our dog’s routines. The list of kitchen items to bring. My personal list of what to pack. The reminder to bring Bananagrams, Apples to Apples, and decks of cards. And the list of important phone numbers for the road and at home for the dog/house sitter.

I reached for the remote and turned the television off. I found an old one-subject notebook filled with wide-ruled blank paper. I grabbed a cup of fresh tea. And began. And then, something bright caught my eye. Sunlight from the window. For a brief moment, the sun came out. And then, it disappeared. As quick as that. I sighed and turned back to my list. Another rainy weekend in Vermont.

What do you do to keep sane after a long stretch of rainy days? Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

rain-1640546_960_720.jpg

 

 

I’ve projects to do

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sometimes you just have to spend it.

  1. Maggie on said:

    How wonderful that you found some new (to you) clothes and experienced a mood elevator as well.

    Considering the fact that we are moving out of our big house to a small house and preparing the big house for sale, that is really all we are doing. Sorting, deciding, relinquishing, moving – – repeat. It doesn’t matter if the sun is shining or not. We are moving, moving – 8-10 hours a day. Focus, focus! Downsizing is really challenging. We have too much stuff! But how to determine the need, the priority – or is it just sentimental. We are learning and determining what is important and what isn’t. Phew! It’s exhausting!

  2. Maggie–that’s why I admire my kids so much in regard to how little they accumulate. Perhaps it’s a new generation of values, but these girls really know how to pare down. And they travel so lightly. I’m learning just like you!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

