lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Fresh, organic greens.

Good morning from sunny Vermont–some of you New Englanders may not recognize that word “sunny” anymore, but it still exists and even happens occasionally on days like today! This past Wednesday night I spoke about my books and writing process at the Lanpher Library here in town, and somehow almost two hours flew by as I answered questions, gave some advice on writing, and heard other people’s stories.

One woman reviewed books for a living. One was hooked up with the publishing world. Another had started to write a book about her mother’s life stories. And one man explained why my books pleased him–they were soothing compared to the harsh sounds of television news.

As the night passed, I grew more animated and my hands flew around–a sure sign of engagement. I told them how awkward I felt about marketing my books. How these days I had to carve and rip out time to make headway on Quill Point. How dealing with Lyme Disease had changed me forever, and how some day I’d write a book of fiction about our experiences, but they were still too raw to broach now.

I enjoyed the night. I don’t get out much, and I felt like I’d been given a serving of fresh, organic greens. The next guest speaker is a local veterinarian who swam the English Channel. I’m going.

Today I’m grateful for our town library, sun, and my daughter’s 21st birthday. What are you grateful for? Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

green-salad-1498632_960_720.jpg

 

I

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

