lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Buck Owens and red blooms.

Hello from dreary Vermont. What am I grateful for this afternoon? The snug, solid weight of Scout in my lap as I do my desk work. My wavy-haired, lithe teenager as we talked over breakfast muffins. The gentle, reassuring presence of my mother. The cheer of summer clothes hanging and ready to wear in my closet. The profusion of red blooms on my Easter cactus, which was a Christmas cactus, and before that a Thanksgiving cactus. My car washed and bright yellow again after its 15,000 mile service. Selecting three skeins of  yarn to knit my next prayer shawl, and deciding who to make it for.

My friend Jeff’s live Saturday radio show and his tribute to Buck Owens. My cup of PG Tips tea; it cleared my head and warmed me up. An accurate, well-told news article about our family and Lyme.  Family photos. An unexpected and encouraging letter from my godfather. The HGTV show Fixer Upper, which distracts me from my problems as I hang or fold the laundry in the living room.  And one more: my sweet, red clock.

What are you grateful for? Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

cactus

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Buck Owens and red blooms.

  1. Maggie on said:

    I’m grateful for the steady drip, drip of snow melting which means Spring is coming to Alaska. I’m grateful for a sweet hand written note from Serena that we received today. I’m grateful for the song of chickadees, the smell of carrot, ginger, coconut soup simmering on the stove and the soft fur of my cat Captain Gulliver Treadwell as he snuggles against me and warms my lap.

    I’m thankful for receiving your positive blog today and reading about what you’re grateful for.

    Sending love and hugs,

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

