lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Kindness pops in.

Lifestyle. Good morning from chilly, snowy Vermont. Thursday night we attended the first half of the developmental review board meeting regarding the school construction project next door. In letter form, I explained our concerns about having to relocate to protect Serena’s health, and I asked for assistance. The chairman gave me a polite thank you, and took the next question on drainage. I felt bare-hearted and awkward, but brave and true of voice. I did the hard thing. I also posted on our local Front Porch Forum. Now all sizes of kindness are popping out. A dear friend just offered part of her home, and I’m getting messages about possibilities.

Meanwhile, I’ve been on the phone with realtors, property managers, and Craigslist folks–targeting a range from Hyde Park to Burlington via Waterbury, and Hyde Park to Burlington via Cambridge; there’s Fairfax too. You know our crazy list of criteria, and yesterday I felt like I was searching for the elusive giant squid. (Google “TED & squid” to find out how they found it.) But today, I’m more confident. It’s the beginning, after all.

I’ve also managed to write more on Quill Point. Actually, I’m reviewing what I wrote, because at page 130, I realized I lost a few threads of my story. It’s fun to get lost in a tale of my own making. I’ve high hopes you get lost in it too.

It’s been very chilly this week, like winter used to be when I was young. I resist going outside. For some reason I keep thinking of the balloon festival in St. Jean, how much fun we had, even in the rain. I hope my cousin Helene continues to hold our room reservation. To balloons. To hot and humid summer days. To loyal, little white lap dogs. To dear friends who offer up their rooms. And to you, my faithful readers. What are you toasting today?

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

img_3227

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

