lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Oh Canada!

Good afternoon from rainy Quebec! I’m visiting my cousins in St. Jean sur le Richelieu, touring my mother’s old stomping grounds, eat at bistros, and sleeping through the night. Though we are here for the annual balloon festival, the balloons cannot rise because of the weather. No matter. We are gabbing a mile a minute, looking at pictures, and catching up on our family¬†lives. This is my heritage, people! I learned a new word–fripperie, thrift shop, which we’ll visit this afternoon. My cousin’s home is one floor living, just what we’re hoping to find when we sell Schoolside. I’m surrounded by my French Canadian history, language, and relatives, and it all feels like part of me, which of course it is. This morning my uncle showed me the house where my grandfather lived for 31 years. How will my girls know who they are unless I bring them here? And isn’t it finally time that my worldview expanded as I crossed into a new country?

I hope to write on Quill Point this afternoon. La vie est bonne! Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

hot-air-balloon-945944__180

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

