lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

I settled for a card.

Greetings from sunny Vermont! First, last week’s book signing at Haymaker Card and Gift. Imagine opening the door to see a wooden table on your right, flush with stacked books of Kent titles. Crackers, cheese, fresh fruit, and cider await the hungry and thirsty palate. A bouquet of summer blossoms grace the table–lillies, Gerber daisies. The store itself is filled with useful, beautiful objects, the kinds of items you’d find in Peace Cottage or in East Winsett’s grocery store.

It’s a peaceful, joyful feeling sitting and signing books, interrupted of course by getting up to give and receive hugs. Fifteen books left the table that day. And I left with this: Haymaker will be part of Quill Point, and Finn will gift to Eva Orah’s framed photograph A Bouquet of Love. I wish I could buy it and call it a business expense. I settled for a card.

This weekend I plan to spend an hour moving Quill Point forward. An hour all at once. It’s a lofty goal with all that’s going on at our home, but I so want to write! I’ve given myself a finish date of November 20th and a backup finish date of December 31st, in hopes that it gets published in 2017.

Second, let me tell you about the kindness of neighbors. So two of my neighbors know that I’m flat out in my life right now while I’m still trying to sell our house. I’ve “staged” the inside, but the yards have seemed impossible. Enter kindness. The first neighbor cleaned up all the grass and weeds along the side of the road. The second has been transplanting, weeding, taking down rascally trees, mulching with wood chips, and will even lend us another bench to make the front of our house more appealing. She asks nothing in return. No matter how awful this world tends to get, every day there are examples that affirm its goodness.

What goodness has fallen into your life today? Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Lisa

flower-meadow-1517585_960_720.jpg

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

