lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

The other Lisa Kent.

Story telling. Good morning from sunny Vermont. In mid-March, my parents received a phone call from a woman claiming to be Lisa Kent, asking for donations for the local area cancer network (LACN). Flummoxed because her voice sounded exactly like mine (in fact, recorded from my phone voice greeting at the library) my mother answered, “Why are you doing this? Why don’t you just come over and we’ll give you money?” The woman hung up. Since then, Lamoille County has been plagued with similar calls from this same woman. I’ve made a statement for our local television station, and on Thursday, along with the director of the LACN, I did a public service announcement for our local radio station. The woman won’t quit (apparently her call center is based out of Nevada) and it’s terrible timing, because the LACN is fundraising and gearing up for its annual cancer walk–a walk I often participate in. This woman is threatening my reputation, and the reputation of the LACN.

Meanwhile, I’m now using my middle name in every public event that I participate in. I’m working hard to make a name for myself as an author, and this telemarketer is making me out to be a scam artist in my own community. If I had more feistiness in me, I’d be angry. But with my current life situation, I’m resigned to slog through this and clear my name one public event at a time.

But this whole episode has given me an idea for a book. Imagine a woman who’s floated some bad checks or some similar petty crime, her reputation gets trashed by social media, she loses her home and her job. Her community folds. How does she rebuild? (You know I love to write about fresh starts.) It’s easy enough to disappear in a big city, but not so easy in a small town. What if I wrote a book that left you all cheering for the other Lisa Kent? Does this story possibility intrigue you?

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

mailboxes-1002535_960_720

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The other Lisa Kent.

  1. Maggie on said:

    I would be furious and feel very taken advantage of. I’m sorry this has happened to you. I don’t feel sorry for the person who is victimizing you. She has many other options and has chosen the wrong response for whatever her difficulties are.

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

