lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

A Case of Kefir.

Lifestyle. Good morning from chilly Vermont. Between the time I graduated from college in 1985 and the time I got married in 1996, I held and lived by this theory that I should eat healthy food 3/4 of the time and junk food 1/4 of the time, so if an apocalypse came and our healthy food sources disappeared, my body would still be able to tolerate whatever garbage was left to eat. (Remember: I have a good imagination.) This is how I justified eating locally sourced organic burgers with a Ring Ding topper. During this same time I eschewed secondhand clothing. Having been unblessed with my sisters’ hand-me-downs during my growing up years, I used part of my hard-earned money from my first post-college job to buy new suits, skirts, blouses, dresses, and fun athletic wear, just because I could. I continued to shy away from clutter, though books were my weakness. Books, music and clothes. I never thought about who was making my clothes and in what conditions, and I never thought about the toxins I put into my body with my 1/4 rule.

All that changed when I became pregnant with Serena and her twin, Nathaniel, who died in my first trimester. Wanting Serena to live and thrive, I spent hours researching the best ways to create a nontoxic environment–and that included my own body and what I put in it (although I had terrible cravings for cream horns), and I found my way to hand-me-downs thanks to my sister’s earlier delivery of my wonderful niece.

I planned to work part-time when Serena was born; my job at the Institute of Sustainable Communities fulfilled and challenged me. But when we met face to face for the first time, I couldn’t go back to work. I tried for two days, picking Serena up at day care sick to my stomach as I wondered what I missed in her young life. So, shocking our financial picture, I stayed home and embraced frugality. I have no regrets.

Sustainability. Minimalism. Simplicity. I grew into this lifestyle, and I continue to do my best to model and live it. Sometimes I make horrid decisions. Like buying a case of Kefir. But as I get older, I fit better into my belief system. Wisdom does come with age. So you won’t see much excess in my books. I just don’t know how to write about that anymore. Tell me about your lifestyle. Did you also grow into it?

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

berries

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Case of Kefir.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Nathaniel~ i guess our lifestyle morphed as time passed by, my lifestyle wasn’t consider healthy many years ago but when I moved on in life, age catches up and living a balanced life is what I looked for now. Although I ‘m still lacking in the workout department 😉

  2. Bob Barrett on said:

    Lisa, Those berries look wonderful.

    On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 8:09 AM, lisamoniquekent wrote:

    > lisamoniquekent posted: “Lifestyle. Good morning from chilly Vermont. > Between the time I graduated from college in 1985 and the time I got > married in 1996, I held and lived by this theory that I should eat healthy > food 3/4 of the time and junk food 1/4 of the time, so if an apoca” >

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

