lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Storytelling. Good morning from sunny Vermont. Last night I emailed my latest corrected manuscript of Vinehart Farm to Curiosity Quills. The next time I see it will be in book form, for one last round of corrections. As it moves into production, it’s my turn to wave the flags and ring the bells to prepare you for cover release.

This book of mine, Vinehart Farm, is personal. My brother and sisters will recognize the rooms of Eva’s house. Eva walks her dog by the pond we used to swim in. What Eva calls home in fiction was actually once Sunny Side Farm in reality, a 200-year-old red farmhouse and barn on a beautiful piece of Vermont land. My parents sold most of the farm about ten years ago, and though the new owners are fine people, I feel out of place visiting. So Vinehart Farm has allowed me to slip back into the house and mess around with the scenery. It’s given me the power to change my own history. It’s allowed our old barn dogs to leave the kitchen.

So when you read this book, know that you are getting glimpses into my formative years, and glimpses of how I wanted them to be. Vinehart Farm mixes make believe with memory. Perhaps that’s the basis for all fiction. What do you

windows-72827_960_720

think?

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “

  1. Bob Barrett on said:

    Lisa, Your description makes me look forward to reading Vinehart Farm. I’m sure you’ll let me know when it’s available.

    Best Joan

    On Sat, May 14, 2016 at 9:06 AM, lisamoniquekent wrote:

    > lisamoniquekent posted: “Storytelling. Good morning from sunny Vermont. > Last night I emailed my latest corrected manuscript of Vinehart Farm to > Curiosity Quills. The next time I see it will be in book form, for one last > round of corrections. As it moves into production, it’s my t” >

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

