lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Learning. For me there is no such thing as a “day job.” “Job” is too cumbersome a word for the pleasure I get walking into our beautiful library, filled with wooden cubbies and tables, luscious potted plants, and natural light on every floor. I go up the black spiral stairs to my office, a peaceful place is there ever was one, with its own set of plants on the window ledge, and sea curiosities and red accents here and there–but not too much, you understand, just right for optimal focus.

And there from my helm of tranquillity I work as a librarian embedded this term into 46 online classes. That’s 46 classes of learning opportunity for me and 46 opportunities of introducing students to library methods and materials. Information literacy–that’s the ticket and the goal, so when our students graduate and step away from our resources, they’ll still be able to navigate the bucketload of information (good and bad) out there and make objective decisions.

What do I get? Fanciful facts–Alaska has 3 million lakes. And deep issues to ponder–cow meat tainted with antibiotics often becomes part of the feed livestock eat before they themselves get slaughtered for our tables. Topics I bring home for my own family to wonder at and wrestle with. So if you ask me what I “do,” to support my family and my writing, I won’t tell you what my “job” is, I’ll tell you a story about10410748_10152426020024737_3174425763710042833_n the special place I get to be part of, Johnson State College’s Willey Library.

Do you have a job or a special place?

Check back next week for another segment of Finding Home.

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “

  1. Corlies Delf on said:

    This is a warm, centering piece, Lisa. And I’m glad to more know about your “day job.” Sending love.

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

