lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

It’s all going to be alright.

As the old year winds down, I find myself thinking about change. This past year was difficult. A Lyme cure didn’t land on our doorstep, and because of that, my optimistic nature got roughed up some. But the pleasure that readers are getting out of Raising Evangeline is acting as a porch light of sorts, and there’s a whole lot of good elsewhere to keep me going. Like the library, and my new office, and the resurrection of our dilapidated garage. The sea. Like my daughters’ laughter and the stories my husband reads to me at night. Dad, he tells me that God never stretches you more than what you can handle. I’ve been stretched, and my poor sick daughter has been doubly stretched, but we are still in the boat, so I guess my dad is right. I just hope the good Lord sees that our hands are raised and excuses us from class in 2016.

My parents are 82 and 84, and they still live in their own home and will receive us all for Christmas Day. They hug us and take our coats, and in every part of their home there is love, love, love. And on Christmas Eve I have the honor of standing next to my mother in church and singing carols loudly in her ear, in case she needs help with the melody. And my daughter will stand beside me and sing carols loudly in my ear, because she loves to sing and I love to hear her. It’s all going to be alright. Even as we feel this year’s bruises and hard knocks, it’s all going to be alright.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It’s all going to be alright.

  1. It’s so good to hear your positive attitude like a little life boat. Yes, it’s going to be alright and at this the darkest time of year there is the promise of Spring. Much love to you all!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

