lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Our cactus the superhero.

This past Saturday I participated in my first craft fair at the Bishop John A. Marshall school. The school provided a six foot table, and I brought a green tablecloth, banners, a sturdy signing pen, 30 copies of Raising Evangeline, 15 copies of the newly covered Peace Cottage, and about 12 books of Peace Cottage with the original cover. I forgot bags. My husband brought a beautiful pink and red blooming cactus, and placed it within sight of the doorway of the room I was assigned.

The cactus drew people in like crazy, and I and the other three vendors in the room (we had the third grade classroom to ourselves) profited because of it. Not only did I sell all books but 8 copies of the new cover, I got two offers on the plant!

What a day. Two women asked me if I had lived through the experiences of the book, because they said I wrote like they were real. Another commented on how Lucy kept her wits about her when it came to men. The whole experience was amazing, and so affirming. Many women said they came to the fair “just for me.”

So now I’m looking forward to my next event on Saturday from 11 to 1 p.m. at Haymaker Card and Gift in Morrisville. Thank goodness the owner, Orah Moore, has her own stock of books to sell!

cactus

Lisa

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Our cactus the superhero.

  1. Congratulations! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

