lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Pea stone, old wood, and making goals.

When I checked my email this morning, my manuscript wasn’t there–it is still with the proofreader for its absolutely final last corrections from Curiosity Quills. From there, it comes to me, for my absolutely final last round of corrections. So today’s a rest day. I blog, I Facebook, I update my Goodreads author page, and I work at the library, starting my work week there. But in all this, I’m happily settled in my new office. Latest addition? A reading chair, pillow, and prayer shawl. It’s supposed to be my thinking place, but I have visitors today, my youngest daughter and our dog. They curl up just fine together.

I’ll be doing a book signing at Haymaker Gifts in Morrisville on November 28th, and I’ll be at Bear Pond in Stowe in December. I’ll also be at the Bishop John A. Marshall School in Morrisville for the craft fair on December 5th. Curiosity Quills is helping me with its big guns, trying to get me into Barnes and Noble and Phoenix Books in Burlington, and Northshire Books in Manchester. I’m concentrating on Vermont. It’s all I can do right now as I nurse our older daughter back to health.

Louise Penny continues to write and market as her husband slips more and more into Alzheimer’s, She does her best at both, and so can I, and my daughter will recover from Lyme. There are other demands, of course. Yesterday I shoveled two yards of pea stone into our barn/garage to prepare for that first drive in once our new garage door is installed. My back is still strong; all those years of farming paid off. The barn is hoed out now, and with a new large window facing out to the back yard, it has become a place of respite for me. I grab a step ladder, climb up, and just stare out. It’s very quiet in there, and I’m surrounded by old, old wood. When my dad was working in there, he found an old pewter pitcher from Holland. I used it as a centerpiece last week. He’s convinced he’ll find more treasures as he works his way to the back of the barn. I bring him tea, cookies, and apple juice to keep him hydrated, and I sit with him and we just talk.

Well, I’ve rambled on enough. This week my goal is to get the manuscript back and turn it around within 48 hours. I hope you all meet your goals. If you don’t, do what I do. Make new ones!

Lisa074

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

