lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Entice!

A rainy morning in Vermont, the humid kind, good for indoor chores and musings. It looks like Raising Evangeline is coming out in November, and Vinehart Farm in 2016. So what can I do to keep you interested? How do I keep you reading when all is quiet on the book front?

I have an idea. I figure if you’re reading this, you like my writing (or you’re very good friends!). And I write for other parts of my life. So I thought I’d share what I’m writing elsewhere with you now, integrating to add interest and give me some freedom from posting “Nothing’s new on the books.”

I’ve included a book review that is coming out in September for our Johnson State College paper, Basement Medicine. I’m a librarian there: I spend my day helping students to navigate library resources while they are taking classes online.

And, my first vacation at the beach picture.

IMG_0141

Until next week,

Lisa

Spitz, B., Dearie, New York: Vintage Books. 2012. Print.

Once. I saw her just once, for a mere five seconds as my boyfriend surfed television channels. My next encounter was through Dan Akroyd during his Saturday Night Live French Chef skit. So when I started reading about Julia Child in Spitz’s biography Dearie, I was unprepared for how swiftly and strongly I became a follower and fan of this amazing woman.

Bob Spitz writes incredibly well, so well that he would make anyone’s life enthralling. But Spitz doesn’t know everyone; he did know Julia Child, and he was a fan, so do expect some bias. Yet there’s enough balance in Dearie to provide many sides of Child’s character—her occasional bigotry and her hardline self-interest, to her open door policy and fearless pursuit of justice.

Who knew that she came from a wealthy ultra-conservative family in California? That she was an administrator in espionage in the Office of Strategic Services during WWII? That she started to take a serious interest in food only in her 30s? That her peculiar voice was genetic, handed down by her mother and her mother before her? There’s so much in Dearie about Child’s home life and politics that you almost forget that she was a famous French chef.

Almost. Child is fierce about cooking, specifically, French cooking. She devotes her life to transforming American kitchens through translating and teaching exact, reliable methods. Once her first cookbook is published—Mastering the art of French cooking, and once she goes on air on educational television in Boston (WGBH), she’s unstoppable. And Spitz records it all.

Using Julia’s archives (donated to the Schlesinger Library at Harvard), letters to and from Julia from friends and family, and his own traveling experiences and conversations with her, Spitz documents her life in a chronological but leisurely manner. This is a story he doesn’t want to finish, and in the end, neither do I.

So I did what any person with Internet access does these days whose interest is piqued—I tracked down and watched one of her French Chef shows on YouTube, the one where she makes omelets. And I entered a request through our library for her first cookbook. Sure she died in 2004, and I’m way late in learning about her. But the great thing is that her legacy still stands. That’s what Bob Spitz does for us. He reminds all that she’s still worth discovering.

Lisa M. Kent

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Entice!

  1. Maggie on said:

    We are just home from a 400 mile road trip. We went to North Pole, AK to visit Lucy and her family and help them clear some trees from around their cabin. It was a very fun 4 day weekend. What I really wanted to share with you is that we listened to several “Ted Talks” since the drive was about 6 hours long. Have you ever heard of them? The url is http so://www.ted.com/talks. The program is about 50 minutes long and covers a myriad of interesting subjects. We listened to one called “where does creativity come from?” It was about people who write books, music, poems, etc and where they get their ideas and how they accomplish their works of art. I thought about you so many, many times and I think you could have been one of the interesting people they interviewed. I hope you can find it and I hope it inspires you to continue doing the wonderful writing you are doing. I’m so very proud of you!

  2. Maggie on said:

    I loved your book review of Dearie and you have definitely enticed me to read the book!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

