lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

My friend Hollie.

After I went to my 35th high school reunion, I ran into a classmate who had also attended, but we missed each other at the reunion because we left earlier than she arrived. She told me that our classmate Hollie had died. I was crushed, Hollie was my best friend in seventh and eighth grade. How could she die without my knowing about it? The last time I saw her, she was visiting from California with her beautiful newborn son. I just couldn’t imagine her gone, especially with no way to grieve along with her family. My husband did some searching and found where her brother was working, and I left him a message of grief. Was there some way I could contact her mother?

Her brother left me a message not long after. Hollie was alive and thriving in California, and her son was nine! I was elated, and even better, he gave me her number so I could tell her what I would have wanted to tell her had she died. I told her that she was really important to me during my growing up years, and I was grateful. And I was so glad she was well.

What have I learned? To keep in touch with the people I care about, especially now, when we are all getting older. To keep on nurturing friendships, young and old. So Cathie, Angela, Laura, Red, Paul, Eric, and yes, Hollie–oh there are a bunch of you! I’m coming back to you. You were formative then. You helped to shape me, and the long term result is that I’m a better person because of all the experiences, quarrels, and laughter we shared. Thank you.

Lisa038

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My friend Hollie.

  1. This is a wonderful piece — marvelously written, and So Moving and inspiring. Thanks for sharing this story, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

