lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

The last polish before the great send off.

Today I’m thinking about a story I just read about knitting socks. It’s a beautiful story about a mother and her daughter. It is eloquent, moving, and just a touch haunting. I want to write like that. Instead, sometimes I feel like I’m using those Ad Lib books to construct a sentence. The ______ (choose a noun) wanted to ________ (choose a verb) and so forth. So that’s why I read my manuscript out loud. If it sounds phony, it is. If it sounds real, then it stays. My ear is what is connected to my heart, and that’s the place I want to write from. Raising Evangeline is getting there. I’ve yet to read it aloud; that will happen when my own edits are done. it’s the last polish before the great send off.

I asked my daughter what she thought came next for me, commenting that a new idea for a fourth book may never come. She said, “You wait until you are on the beach this summer, and then, when you’re totally relaxed, something might come!” What optimism! It’s hard for me to think creatively while I work two jobs, because my brain gets tired. But I’m having some terrific dreams!

I leave you with a shout to all those writers out there who are so good but never get read. Share your work. That’s how I ended up reading the sock story.  I hope there’s more coming my way.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The last polish before the great send off.

  1. cor4andr3a on said:

    Any chance the sock author would let you link her story to us? I believe knitting ever more complicated patterns saved my daughter’s life the year she dropped out of high school with depression and anxiety.

    How I wish I could be there to read aloud with you!

    • I’ll ask her. She just may. Knitting has been a life saver for me as well…And if you were here, we could take turns reading chapters.

      • Maggie on said:

        I don’t know how to reply correctly to say “sure I’ll share with you but I will.

      • Well, for heaven’s sake! It took me awhile to put the clues together and understand that the sock author is Maggie! Gotta love this family of talented women. I’ll be looking forward to reading it!

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. Your writing is definitely real and I love to read it. Our hearts are connected.

  3. Well for heaven’s sake! It took me awhile to put the clues together and understand that the sock author is Maggie! Gotta love this family of talented women! I’m watching for the link or whatever so I can read this story too. Sending love.

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

