lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Show, don’t tell.

I didn’t blog last week, because I used all my free time to edit Raising Evangeline before it heads to the publisher for review. I’ve made it about half way through, correcting typos, working on dialogue, and most importantly, showing scenes as they unfold instead of telling about them. I heard this over and over when Cait was editing Peace Cottage. “Show! Don’t tell!” she would write in bold in the margins. So now as I edit, I ask myself, “What would Cait say?”

My goal is to get my editing done in the next ten days. If Curiosity Quills likes it, then I get a contract. CQ has a new imprint now called Curiosity Thrills, for romances and romance type genres. This means that Raising Evangeline, if it’s accepted, will get much more of a marketing push, and an actual home. (Peace Cottage isn’t fitting very well right now with all of its paranormal and sci-fi peers.)

Meanwhile, Peace Cottage has new readers in Kansas and Vermont. I’ve decided to commit to several signings and booth rentals this summer, to see if I can increase sales. I’ve got to get over this introversion thing.

Well, that’s all for this round. I want to get back to my book!

Lisa

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Show, don’t tell.

  1. Curiosity Thrills sounds perfect. I never thought Peace Cottage was a good fit in the paranormal/sci.fi. Genre. Peace Cottage is so perfect, it could clearly stand on its own podium genre.

  2. I like the “show, don’t tell” advice. Also, “what would Cait say?” And I agree, Curiosity Thrills sounds like a better home for your work. Hurray for your progress on Raising Evangeline!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

