lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Taking care of details.

It’s winter, it’s the end of the year, and it’s Advent season. What does this all mean to me? I’m slowing down. In writing, I’m focusing on the story of Evangeline’s Acadian roots. Her homework is to get to know King George IV, and learn about the La Rochelle region of France. Of course, that means I get to learn as well. This section of Raising Evangeline must be compelling, not only for Evangeline, who needs to have the good role models her ancestors provide, but also for the reader, because history can be dry. So I’m teasing out the details of this young girl’s story. I’m also thinking about the homeschooling blog and whether I’m ready to take that on. I’m not sure. Right now, as I end the year, it seems like too much to take on. We’ll see what the New Year’s energy brings to me. Other details? The tree is up, decorated just so. The creches are up, one for each girl, one whimsical, the other stark. I am painstakingly editing my annual Christmas letter. Every year I include a quote from each of my daughters; this year is the first year I’m short one, and I don’t know what to do. I can’t send the letter out until it is complete, so it just might arrive late. Anyway, I hope you all can slow down some this December. It’s a crazy month, yes, but there are ways to smooth out the rough spots. I’m including a photo from my parents’ farm that inspired the path in Peace Cottage. Enjoy the week.

Lisa

cabin path

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Taking care of details.

  1. Maggie on said:

    I’m glad to hear that you are slowing down, renewing your strength, and enjoying the season. I love the picture of the path through the woods. I can hear the crunch in the snow, just like the snow crunches as I walk through our Alaska woods. I feel closer to you when I realize the similarities between Alaska and Vermont.

    We have not put our tree up yet as Greg came down with a very hard cold right after Thanksgiving. He is the muscle in putting the tree up so we will wait.

    Advent is a time for waiting and preparing. It’s one of my favorite times of the year.

    Happy Advent.

    I love you,

    Maggie

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

