lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Author’s Creep.

I was rereading Raising Evangeline the other day, all ready to scrap the whole book and start over with a new premise. But I got sucked into the story, and realized that what I have so far isn’t bad. In fact, it’s got good bones. So I’m staying with it, but this time with new energy. Lucy, her daughters, and Evangeline need more depth, and more vision. Right now they are suffering with author’s creep, that place where mediocrity starts eroding their characters because the author loses direction. I’ve decided to make a physical map with circles and lines representing my characters, how they develop, and how they are connected. Maisie Dobbs is always doing this to solve crimes in Jacqueline Winspear’s books. Maisie uses crayons, but I think I’ll use colored pencils with erasers on them. (These didn’t exist in the 1920s.)  I want a happy ending, I know that much. It’s the journey I’m unsure about. In any case, I’m sticking with it. Anyway, there’s no rush. Remember how long it took Harper Lee to write To Kill a Mockingbird?

Speaking of books, I’ve made a list of good books to curl up with during the winter season: Ravens in Winter by Bernd Heinrich; Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer; Owl Moon by Jane Yolen; A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy; Tinkers by Paul Harding; A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote: A Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas; Winter Solstice by Rosamunde Pilcher; The Snow Leopard by Peter Matthiessen; Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton; The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder; The Mitten by Jan Brett; Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin; Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson; Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow by Peter Hoeg; Snow by Orhan Pamuk, The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats, The Call of the Wild by Jack London, The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin, Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett, and Trapped, by Michael Northrop.

Any titles of your own?

Lisa

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Author’s Creep.

  1. Maggie on said:

    What a wide variety of books to read you have selected. I love Ravens in Winter and may read it again since I live so closely with Ravens. I am reading Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier. It takes place during the time of the Indian wars but woven into that shameful treatment of people is a beautiful love story that covers about thirty years. I read it at night and think about it all day.

    I’m glad you aren’t giving up on Raising Evangeline. As a parent I frequently wanted to give up on raising my kids but couldn’t, didn’t and am now very glad. Thanks for keeping us up to date.

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

