lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Princesses, puppies, and country mice.

Another beautiful fall day in rural Vermont. Though I’ll spend some time outside in my favorite Adirondack chair, I’ll dedicate most of the day to writing, tweaking Vinehart Farm, continuing to unfold the plot in Raising Evangeline, and adding the last touches to my first blog regarding home schooling for Curiosity Quill’s website. The sheet rocking crew is coming today to start work in the bathroom. The contractor left a message that he hopes to finish up this week. To celebrate, I added a white and blue cotton table cloth to the kitchen table. I must say it takes very little to make me happy. My older daughter was home for the first time since leaving for college. We went for a hike, we fed her healthy food, shopped to stock her refrigerator, and spent much of our time talking. When she left again last night, it was even harder to say goodbye than that first time at the end of August. She’ll be home again for Thanksgiving.

I finished Summer Solstice, and really paid attention to how well Pilcher describes settings. I want that ability, as I tend to write tersely and it’s a struggle for me to color in scenes. I wonder if she works at it or if it comes naturally to her. In any case, it is work for me. Conversations come easily, since they dance in my head as I write. I think that’s why I’ve been able to mesmerize children with my stories about princesses, puppies, and country mice. Perhaps one day I’ll write those down too.

Time to sign off and start doing the work of an author. As one of my instructor friends says to his students, make it a great day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

