lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Something unexpected.

I write a review every month of a book in our new book section at the library. The review ends up on our library website, our college newspaper, and the county newspaper. For October, I’ve chosen So Little Time, a book addressing our current environmental climate situation through use of photos, poems, and reflections. In my review, I quote a stanza from a poem in the book, and according to the book’s copyright statement, I needed permission to use it. So I sent off an email to the publisher to request permission, including the review so that she could see how I was using the quote. I didn’t expect a reply; I figure I’m small potatoes in the publishing world. This morning I found a nice surprise. The publisher emailed me back. She not only gave me permission, but she said the review was “superb” and asked if she could use it in her newsletter. She also asked me to write a review of So Little Time on Amazon, and to send a copy of my photo. I feel like I’m paying it forward, not just because I’m promoting the book in my review, but also because one of the contributors is a friend of mine, David Cavanagh. He has several books of poetry out; his latest is Cycling in Plato’s Cave: Poems. Both books are available on Amazon. I urge you to seek them out.

Lisa

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

