lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

I’m not a city girl.

This morning I sat in the Bear Pond Book tent at the Celebrate Vermont festival to sell and sign Peace Cottage. My slot was from 10 to 11 AM and I sold two books to two nice women, one from Vermont and one from Connecticut. This was a high class festival in Stowe, with beautiful blown glass, pottery, textiles, and food. It was hard not to gaze with envy at the displays. I gazed with wonder instead–sort of. I had a good talk with one of the people who works at Bear Pond, and she said my book was the perfect size to sell, not too long, a good price, easy to read, something to tuck in a bag for vacation. I like this description.

Meanwhile, back home, our road is being paved, so it’s very noisy and our cars are stuck for a while, one at the school and one in our driveway. I feel winter-bound, and the sounds from the equipment are driving me crazy. I guess I wouldn’t do very well living in a city.

The leaves are just starting to fall–it’s the middle of August; it’s supposed to be hot, hot summer. 070But around here, it means the beginning of the end. And on that cheerful note, I’m off to put ear plugs in.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

