lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

A bit of everything.

Independence Day! Though it is rainy out, or we are feeling the remnants of rain, there is still the parade and the fireworks. Ah, now I see the sun, settling lightly on the wet foliage outside our kitchen windows. Good. You know, when you write a blog, WordPress gives you all these prompts to write about. I’ve been ignoring them, going my own way, but lately I think I’ll take them up on it. Writing about being a new author can get old, because frankly it’s all about waiting and wondering and working on something new or reworking something old. And that’s good stuff, yes. But that’s not all my life. I’m a librarian by trade, so every work day I come into contact with ideas and learners and great resources. Why not write about immersion? How one day I’m exploring the idea of librarians as facilitators of conversation versus of caretakers of artifacts. Or how maybe they can be both. Or how I’m completely taken with this dog named Atticus, who hikes the White Mountains with his human friend Tom Ryan. Or how I’m learning about letting go as my oldest daughter launches into the world as a high school graduate. I think about our environment quite a bit, and agonize how I can make it better. I look around our house and study how I can downsize or minimize, balancing gently with my family of pack rats. I swim in the current of “reduce, reuse, recycle.”

As I gain some hard lessons in life about how to promote myself as an author and both of my books, I need this space to be about the quiet, contemplative life I cultivate and long for. Maybe not all the time, but at least this morning.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

