lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Three good things.

Today is green up day in Vermont! I haven’t gone out yet, because I just got back from my first ride on Duchess, my new to me 3-speed English bike. We tootled around town, taking all the side streets. I was a bit wobbly making my turns, but all in good time. I plan to get some padding for her seat (I see where the expression tough British upper lip comes from) and a lovely wicker basket. So that’s the first good thing.

Second, I will be on the radio tomorrow at WJSC, 90.7 FM at 5 PM if all goes well. It’s my first radio interview ever, and it is a good place to get my feet wet. If I bobble, feel free to laugh, as I’ll be laughing too.

Third, I am having an author talk at the Lanpher Library in Hyde Park on May 10th at 11 AM. I should have some books to sign and sell, if the publisher can get them to me on time. I’m looking forward to this talk. My experience with my daughter’s class this past Thursday was very positive. The students asked good questions, and from what I could tell, I kept them engaged. Hopefully I’ll do as well with adults.

So there you have it. For me, this spring is a time for new experiences, with my bike, with my daughters graduating from their respective schools, with events around my book. By the way, the general consensus is that people like it. That makes me feel terrific.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Three good things.

  1. Maggie on said:

    You are doing so well. Keeping your energy level up! Keeping anxiety down! Stepping forward in faith one step at a time. I am so excited for you!

    Today I am going to accomplish three things also!

    First I am going to write my lesson plan for the class in religion that I teach. We only have two weeks to graduation and we are discussing how to recognize aour gifts and callings from God. It has been very interesting to determine how we discern if we are experiencing a personal yearning for ourselves or a calling from God. So far we have learned that when our gifts can be used to make the world a better place that they become our calling.

    Aristotle said; “Where your talents and the needs of the world cross, therein lies your vocation.” I love the quote, but I say; “Where your gift and the needs of the world cross, therein lies your purpose.” It’s complicated and thought provoking.

    Second – I will organize my studio so I have room to write and not be using the area as a catch-all and storage unit. Gosh it motivates me just to say that.

    Third – I will put back into place all those things that were dislocated from our carpet cleaning episode yesterday. Those things that make a house a home. I will be careful not to have clutter but instead items of beauty and comfort.

    See, you motivate me. Good luck to us both!

    Love, Maggie

    • Maggie–I love your take on Aristotle’s quote. I am saying to myself, “Where my gifts and the needs of the world cross, therein lies my purpose.” What does the world need that I can provide? Hmm. You have a studio! Lucky, lucky Maggie! I write wherever there’s a space for me, usually at the kitchen table. I too feel best in an environment of beauty and comfort. In fact, I can’t settle until my physical environment is peaceful. Sometimes I get teased about being compulsive. I don’t think I am. I just like peace!

      Love,

      Lisa

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

