lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Poof! A Book is born.

Just like that (although it really wasn’t) Peace Cottage is out. The months of editing and decisions are over, and this little book is now making its way into the world on its own merits. I tried to focus on finishing up Vinehart Farm, but I couldn’t focus very well. I’ll try again after this blog entry, because I want to rework a major scene between Eva and the person who is responsible for the hit and run in the book. Today I talk with my daughter’s class about being an author. In the Curiosity Quills Facebook group that I belong to, we talk about what difference (if any) there is between being an author and a writer. I think I’ll use that as a springboard for conversation. I know that I cannot dance, sing, or give the students work, because apparently that will be very embarrassing and bad form. At work the other day, my boss asked me what writers influenced my writing style, and I went completely blank. I couldn’t think of one! So I mumbled something about contemporary English writers. And of course, when he asked, “Which ones?” I went blank again. Fortunately he helped me out. “Maeve Binchy?” Ah, yes, she and Rosamond Piltcher, those are the two! I feel much better prepared now. This is a great question that I didn’t see coming. I wonder what else I’ll draw a blank on? Happy May!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

