lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

What an Ending!

Well, I’m sure I’ll be able to say that when I finally come up with an ending for Vinehart Farm. I’m basically finished with the first draft, but I can’t figure out how to end it. Do I submit what I have up to this point to Curiosity Quills and wait for an editor to help me out, or do I struggle until some epiphany surfaces in the middle of the night? I am really hoping that this book is out by year-end, but there’s a lot of back and forth still to come. I can leave many threads unresolved, but Vinehart Farm is really not sequel material. I can resolve all the loose threads, but then that makes the big surprise in the book less noteworthy. Part of the struggle is that I like Eva, the protagonist, and I don’t know how to say goodbye. She’s got grit, is a hard worker, and stands up for herself. She reminds me of me at 24, except I wasn’t so good at standing up for myself. That has come with time, and having children to advocate for. I guess for now I’ll muddle along and keep thinking of possibilities. I do know that I want her to end right-side-up. I want her to end up not being controlled by fear. I want her to know love. I wouldn’t call her a religious or spiritual person, so I can’t use religion or spirituality as a way to sum everything up. Yet, she’s got a great compass and is very well grounded. (That’s the farm part coming out.) There’s got to be a graceful exit here. I’ll keep at it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

