lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Flotsam and Jetsam.

I like to explore what happens to people’s lives in a certain period of time. If you look at your last full year, are you the same person starting it as you are ending it? Personally, I change every day. I’d like to say I’ve got this core part of me that’s solid and certain and doesn’t blow around in the wind, but I can’t. I think of Joan Armatrading and her song Willow. I love that song, but it’s not me. Me, I’m more like the flotsam and jetsam of life, though thankfully I am always there for my children. In any case, when I create characters in a book or a story, they aren’t certain. Sometimes they are not even fluid, more just trying to get by and getting whacked around by life. And they even give up sometimes. But, eventually they rise. Because I like a good ending.

I read the ends of books all the time. I can’t stand suspense, so in order to tolerate it, I read the end first to release some anxiety. I don’t recommend this way of reading, except to those people who can’t stand suspense. And I hope you don’t read the end of Peace Cottage, because it’s not so suspenseful that you’ll get anxious about it. I don’t watch television or listen to the news much either. I feel powerless with all this sadness and violence. How can a plane go missing? I pray a lot. This is my way to help myself believe that I am balancing the earth out. And maybe, ultimately, I am. Flotsam and jetsam. A missing plane.  Change.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Flotsam and Jetsam.

  1. I enjoy getting your posts!

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

