lisamoniquekent

Finding Home

Not quite there yet.

I’ve been reading a fellow author’s blog https://www.facebook.com/matthew.graybosch and he is blogging on how to start writing. He does well, I think. I’m not quite that confident–I’m still trying to believe that I am one. It will help when Peace Cottage is actually out and circulating. I’ve been working hard on Vinehart Farm, and the more I get into the story, the more I think that the title isn’t quite right. There’s a local farm here called Gopher Broke Farm (see http://gopherbrokefarm.com). I really like that name. I want the feel of Gopher Broke, the three syllableness about it. Any suggestions out there? Meanwhile, what I know about writing as of now is that I have to do it. And maybe that’s my first lesson for you. If you feel like you have to do it, then honor the impulse. You’re a writer because you need to be, not because you’re published. That makes me a writer at about three years old.

Tonight I left work early to avoid driving in the dark during a huge storm. I walked into our home and put myself to work, doing dishes with one daughter, folding laundry with another. And in the midst of all this business, I thought of the start to a poem. “She could not deal with idle hands unless she held a book.”

Safe driving, everyone.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

Down to Earth

Finding Home

Assortment

Finding Home

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

